Saturday Morning Breakfast: Maple Coffee and Baked Egg in a Tomato

Saturday Morning Breakfast: Maple Coffee and Baked Egg in a Tomato

I work at a chocolate shot and one day a woman came in and started talking to me about maple syrup. I explained that I love pancakes and she told me that she wanted to send me some real New Hampshire maple syrup. I thought she wanted to give the sample to the store to see if we would carry her brand, but she wanted to send it to me! A few days ago, I received my syrup and have been putting it on everything! Today, it is a wonderful sweetner in my coffee.

The syrup is from Covered Bridge Tree Farm in Webster NH. ((603) 746 – 3556)

I also bought big sturdy tomatoes at the store and thought to make myself a baked egg in one of them. I am one person so I made one egg, but you can adapt this recipe to any amount of people.

Baked Eggs in Tomato Cup
1 egg
1 Tomato
Salt
Pepper
Pesto

Cut a circle in the tomato and dig out the middle, leaving a nice egg-sized hole. Try to get all of the juice out. Rub the inside with salt and pepper. Take a little pesto and spread it on the inside as well. Crack the egg into the tomato and bake for approx. 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

